top of page

The Woman and The Girl

The woman in me lays out her clothes for work for the following day.

The woman in me gets up before her alarm most mornings at 6am and stumbles down the stairs to flick the kettle on for a cup of black coffee.

The woman in me stares in the mirror while putting on her make-up.

The woman in me smiles when the ensemble is complete.

The woman in me kisses my partner goodbye and wishes him a good day at work.

The woman in me begins each lesson with a smile and warm welcome for each student.

The woman in me laughs and makes jokes with colleagues.

The woman in me stays late at work and preps for the next day.

The woman in me comes home to arrange dinner plans and sort out the washing.

The woman in me checks her calendar and makes plans with friends.

The woman in me finds comfort in a “how was your day” hug and kiss.



The girl in me lays starring at the walls in pain before her alarm goes off, flicks the kettle on and prays it will have some sort of impact on the chronic fatigue that has embedded its self in my bones.

The girl in me analyses every inch of my face and wonders which tablet is causing the acne break out this time.

The girl in me is grateful for the energy to be somewhat ready for work as she pops another pill.

The girl in me gets emotional butterflies at having such a supportive and loving man in my life.

The girl in me wonders can the students see right through me?!

The girl in me wants to leave a good impression as a hard worker.

The girl in me panics that I’m not giving 100% in my job and that someday this illness will win.

The girl in me worries that I’m not doing everything I can to make our house a home.

The girl in me is afraid of losing friends.

The girl in me holds back the tears as he walks through the front door with open arms and a shoulder to lean on.

The girl in me lays out her clothes for work for the following day.

By Megan porter

By Megan Porter

bottom of page